British squad announced for Furusiyya Nations Cup in La Baule..

LGCT London 2013 - 617

Rob Hoekstra, the World Class Showjumping Performance Manager has announced his squad of five that will be travelling to La Baule, France for the second leg of the CSIO 5* Furisiyya Nations Cup competitions. The 5* International Show commences on the 15th May and finishes on the 18th May the Nations Cup taking place on Friday16th May at 13:45hrs local time.

The squad selected are as follows:

Scott Brash MBE, the current World No.1 ranked rider from Peebleshire with Hello Sanctos, the 14 year-old bay gelding owned by Lady Kirkham and Lord & Lady Harris with whom he won Team Gold at the London 2012 Olympic Games followed by a 2013 European Championship Team Gold and Individual Bronze medal.

Joe Clee who is based in Belgium and Utamaro d’Ecaussines a 10 year old bay stallion owned by Ludwig Criel following their double clear Grand Prix win at the CSI3* in Lummen last month.

Tim Gredley from Essex with his own 13 year old grey gelding Unex Chamberlain Z with whom he jumped double clear for Great Britain in the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup team in Wellington, Florida at the start of the year.

Ben Maher MBE, the current World No.2 ranked rider from Bishops Stortford with Urico, a 13 year-old bay gelding owned by Jane F Clark. Urico and Ben recently had considerable success in Wellington, Florida when they won the $150,000 Grand Prix at the Winter Equestrian Festival.

Michael Whitaker from Nottinghamshire with his own 10 year old grey mare Elie van de Kolmen with whom he targeted the World Cup shows during the winter.

The French, Swiss and Belgian teams have announced their teams as well…

France, Ireland, Switzerland, Spain and Belgium will be able to earn points at this leg of the 2014 Furusiyya Nations Cup series. Switzerland announced their team for La Baule following their win in Lummen, Belgium. The Swiss team will consist of Pius Schwizer, Steve Guerdat, Paul Estermann and Jane Richard Phillips. Belgium and France have also announced their teams. Team Belgium will be comprised of Jos Verlooy, Gregory Wathelet, Olivier Philippaerts and Francois Mathy Jr.. The French team will be composed of Kevin Staut, Jerome Hurel, Timothee Anciaume, Aymeric de Ponnat and Penelope Leprevost.

Source: FEI/British Show Jumping