Constant van Paesschen challenges Belgian Federation on selection for WEG and wins…


Belgian rider Constant van Paesschen and the owner of Citizenguard Toscan de Sainte Hermelle, Imminvest, made an official complaint this week regarding the Belgian selection for the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games. This has been confirmed by the Belgian Equestrian Federation in an official Press Release. The Belgian Team for the Games was announced on Monday, August 18th.

The Belgian Court of Arbitration for Sport decided today that the talented combination should be included in the National selection for the World Equestrian Games in Normandy. “It’s a great victory” said Alain Citizenguard, owner of Citizenguard Toscan de Sainte Hermelle. The Belgian Federation and the selector will have until this evening to decide on the new composition of the team.

“We have further taken steps because the non-selection of Constant were unfounded. Our intention was not to break open doors, but we could not accept his non-selection.”

“The good results of Constant and his horse and their remarkable progression in the classifications of the FEI were not sufficiently taken into account by the Belgian Federation who refused to disclose their motives why Constant and his horse were not selected. We are pleased that the FRBSE has made this bold decision with which it gives a clear signal to the Federation that it is necessary to put transparent selection criteria and to communicate its decision to the motives of the lawyers Elisabeth Matthys et Audry Stévenart.”

Together with Citizenguard Toscan de Sainte Hermelle, the 20 year old jockey rode a double clear round in the Nations Cup in Rome in May of this year, contributing considerably to the Belgian victory. The combination started the season strong when they finished third in the Longines Global Champions Tour Grand Prix in Antwerp in April, in addition to having several other top results this season.

The riders selected to represent Belgium consists of Pieter Devos with Dream of India Greenfield, Jos Lansink with Ensor de Litrange LXII, Olivier Philippaerts with Cabrio van de Heffinck and Gregory Wathelet with Conrad de Hus. Jos Verlooy with Domino is reserve.

Source: Equibel