FEI European Championships Are Right Around the Corner: Several Teams Named

by /

Published on August 2, 2017

he Netherlands won team gold at the 2015 FEI European Championships. Ph. ©Erin Gilmore for NF
The Netherlands won team gold at the 2015 FEI European Championships. Ph. ©Erin Gilmore for NF

The Longines FEI European Championships are held every two years. Over 300 of Europe’s top equestrian riders and drivers will meet at the event from August 21-27, 2017 in Goteburg, Sweden, to compete for medals in Jumping, Dressage, Driving and Para-Equestrian Dressage. Show jumping begins on August 23. In total, competitors from around thirty countries, 590 horses, 4,000 accredited participants and 1400 volunteers will be involved in the event.

In show jumping, 21 nations will compete in team competition, with a total of 26 nations nominating riders for individual competition. A full list of those nations and nominated entries are here.

In addition to the enthusiastic spectators at the event, 70 million people will watch the championships on TV. Championship titles will be awarded both to individual competitors and national teams in all disciplines.

Several high-profile European teams have been announced for the show jumping competition. Those include:

Malin Baryard Johnsson & H&M Cue Channa
Peder Fredricson & H&M All In
Douglas Lindelow & Zacramento
Henrik von Eckermann & Mary Lou194
reserve – Helena Persson & Bonzai H

Romain Duget & Twentytwo des Biches
Paul Estermann & Lord Pepsi
Martin Fuchs & Clooney III
Steve Guerdat & Bianca or Hannah III
reserve Werner Muff & Daimler III

Marcus Ehning & Pret a Tout, Funky Fred or Comme Il Faut
Laura Klaphake & Catch Me If You Can
Maurice Tebbel & Chacco’s Son
Philipp Weishaupt & LB Convall
reserve – Simone Blum & DSP Alice

The Netherlands
Marc Houtzager & Sterrehof’s Calimero
Ruben Romp & Audi’s Teavanta II T Z
Harrie Smolders & Don VHP Z
Jur Vrieling & VDL Glasgow vh Merelsnest
reserve – Aniek Poels & Athene

Pal Flam & Skjerabergs Larkin
Geir Gulliksen & Edesa S Banjan or Seringat
Marie Valder Longem & Algorythem
Marit Harr Skollerund & Nicole
Victoria Gulliksen & Viego Les Hautes

Bertram Allen & Hector Van D’Abdijhoeve
Cian O’Connor & Good Luck
Denis Lynch & All Star 5
Shane Sweetnam & Chaqui Z

More team announcements to follow…

Tags: goteburg 2017 News Update