Ludo Philippaerts kicks of CSIO5* St Gallen with a win for Belgium…

ph. CSIO St. Gallen
ph. CSIO St. Gallen
ph. CSIO St. Gallen

Thursday’s final Longines CSIO St. Gallen competition was splendidly won by the Belgian rider Ludo Philippaerts on Challenge V. Begijnakker in 41.09 seconds within 11 riders qualified for jump-off. The Swiss Niklaus Rutschi with Windsor and a time of 41.33 seconds stand second, and the third place went to the Swedish rider Douglas Lindelöw on Talina with more than one second behind.

Of the four other Swiss riders qualified for the jump-off, Martin Fuchs finished fifth final rank riding Principal, followed by Alain Jufer on Wiveau. The eighth place went to Jane Richard Philips on Dieudonne de Gulden Boom. The jump-off did not go well for Steve Guerdat who came 11th on Nasa obtaining 21 points.

The second international competition of CSIO was won by the Spanish rider Gonzalo Suarez Añon with his 14 year old gelding Tobias. The Swiss Jane Richard Philips came second and the British Spencer Roe came third. The fourth, the fifth and the places from nine to twelve were taken by the 6 Swiss riders. 19 of the 41 competitors completed a clear first round, however nine of them committed an error in the second phase.

Representing France, Julien Epaillard on Pigmalion du Rozel comleted the course in 57.31 seconds, the first International Jumping Competition of this year CSIO St. Gallen. The Swiss Emilie Stampfli on Nikita du Luot came second with a gap of 1.09 seconds followed by the Swede Douglas Lindelöw who came third in 58.78 on Balahe.

The Swiss riders Niklaus Rutschi on Si Gracieuse Ardente and Marie Pellegrin Etter on Chase Manhattan came 6th and 11th respectively in this CHF 10’000 competition.

Source: CSIO St Gallen