Olympic Individual Startlist Confirmed as All Pass Final Horse Inspection at Rio


The Final Horse Inspection for the 35 horses confirmed to compete in the Olympic Individual Final proceeded smoothly on Thursday, August 18th at Deodoro’s National Equestrian Center in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil.

All horses passed the jog, with only one horse–Harrie Smolder’s Emerald—sent to the holding box. Upon re-presentation, Emerald was accepted. A handful of horses were asked to jog twice but the ground jury found that all horses were fit to compete.

The deciding rounds for the Individual Olympic Final will get underway at 10:00am local time on Friday, August 19th. The entire start list will jump Round A.

At 1:30pm local time, the top 20 combinations will return to jump Round B, and contest a possible jumpoff if scores for Gold, Silver, or Bronze medals are tied. All combinations start the Individual Final on zero faults.

Over the three previous days of Olympic competition, Individuals were ranked according to their performance, with the top 35 moving on to the Final. Due to Olympic rules that allow just three riders from each nation to progress, Switzerland’s Janika Sprunger is forced to sit out the Final. All four members of Team Switzerland qualified in the top group, and chef d’equipe Andy Kistler had to make the tough choice to leave one of his riders off the start list.

Official Startlist, Rio 2016 Individual Olympic Final:

Position Athlete Country Horse
1 Jerome Guery BEL Grand Cru Van De Roz.
2 Matt Williams AUS Valinski S
3 Luciana Diniz POR Fit For Fun 13
4 Nick Skelton GBR Big Star
5 Bassem Hassan Mohammed QAT Dejavu
6 Henrik von Eckermann SWE Yajamila
7 Harrie Smolders NED Emerald
8 Matias Albarracin ARG Cannavaro 9
9 Ben Maher GBR Tic Tac
10 Edwina Tops-Alexander AUS Lintea Tequila
11 Jeroen Dubbeldam NED Zenith
12 Romain Duguet SUI Quorida De Treho
13 Martin Fuchs SUI Clooney
14 Steve Guerdat SUI Nino Des Buissonnets
15 Yann Candele CAN First Choice 15
16 Eduardo Menezes BRA Quintol
17 Tiffany Foster CAN Tripple X Iii
18 Lucy Davis USA Barron
19 Sergio Alvarez Moya ESP Carlo 273
20 Sheikh Ali Al Thani QAT First Devision
21 Philippe Rozier FRA Rahotep De Toscane
22 Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum GER Fibonacci
23 Pedro Veniss BRA Quabri De L’isle
24 Ali Yousef Al Rumaihi QAT Gunder
25 Christian Ahlmann GER Taloubet Z
26 Kevin Staut FRA Reveur De Hurtebise
27 McLain Ward USA Azur
28 Alvaro Doda de Miranda BRA Cornetto K
29 Daniel Deusser GER First Class
30 Rene Tebbel UKR Zipper
31 Roger Yves Bost FRA Sydney Une Prince
32 Kent Farrington USA Voyeur
33 Peder Fredricson SWE All In
34 Maikel van der Vleuten NED Verdi
35 Eric Lamaze CAN Fine Lady 5