Scott Brash maintains lead in FEI World Cup Western European League…

Scott Brash riding Hello Sanctos, 1st Longines FEI World Cupª qualfier, Olso receivces awards from Aksel Lund Svindal - Longines ambassador with Morten Thormodsen - Brand manager and sales rep Longines Norway.  Photo: Roger Svalsr¿d/FEI

The 2013 season has come to an exciting conclusion. Following the final CSI5* event of the 2013 season, Scotland’s Scott Brash remains in the lead for the 2013/2014 World Cup Western European League.

After the sixth leg of the Longines FEI World Cup in the Western European League concluded today in Mechelen, Belgium, it remains that Scott Brash leads with 52 points overall. The reigning Olympic Champion from Switzerland, Steve Guerdat is only slightly behind him in second position with 51 points overall, while Australia’s Edwina Tops-Alexander lands in third position with 47 points after earning an additional 12 points in Mechelen today, finishing in fifth with Ego van Orti.

Maikel van der Vleuten holds on to fourth position, with 40 points, while Great Britain’s Tim Gredley stands confidently in fifth position after tremendous success in North America. Tim and Marcus Ehning are tied with a total of 36 points each. Belgium’s Francios Mathy Jr. is just ahead of Luciana Diniz, in seventh position while the leading lady from Portugal holds onto eighth position with 32 points overall.

Reigning German Champion Daniel Deusser earned 20 points today by winning the World Cup Grand Prix of Mechelen and now sits in ninth position with a total of 27 points. After finishing in second place for Sweden, Jens Fredricson was able to earn his first 17 points of the season, putting the star Swede in 22nd position overall.

Longines FEI World Cup Jumping 2013/2014 Western European League – Standings after Round 6 at Mechelen (BEL):

1. Scott Brash GBR – 52
2. Steve Guerdat SUI – 51
3. Edwina Tops-Alexander AUS – 47
4. Maikel van der Vleuten NED – 40
5. Tim Gredley GBR – 36
6. Marcus Ehning GER – 36
7. Francois Mathy Jr BEL – 34
8. Luciana Diniz POR – 32
9. Daniel Deusser GER – 27
10. Kevin Staut FRA – 27
11. Hans-Dieter Dreher GER – 26
12. Simon Delestre FRA – 25
13. Patrice Delaveau FRA – 23
14. Harrie Smolders NED – 23
15. Jeroen Dubbeldam NED – 21
16. Christian Ahlmann GER – 20
17. Michael Whitaker GBR – 20
18. Pius Schwizer SUI – 19
19. Athina Onassis de Miranda GRE – 19
20. Nicola Philippaerts BEL – 18
21. Beat Mandli SUI – 18