Team Australia announced for World Equestrian Games in Normandy….

Julia and Georgie - 36

National Jumping Selectors have confirmed Australia’s Jumping Team for the 2014 FEI World World Equestrian Games (WEG). Joining the previously nominated athletes of Edwina Tops-Alexander, Jamie Kermond and Amy Graham on the team of five are London 2012 Olympians Julia Hargreaves and James Paterson-Robinson.

Current Global Champions Tour Series Champion Tops-Alexander earned her position through early nomination while Kermond and Graham satisfied the requirements for automatic nomination.

The five riders and their horses in alphabetical order are:

Amy Graham and Bella Baloubet

Amy and her grey stallion Bella Baloubet were the reserve combination for the Australian team at the 2012 London Olympic Games. The pair recently finished third in the Spangenberg CSI3* Grand Prix which was the second in a two round nomination series for Australian riders vying for team positions. Normandy will be Graham’s first World Equestrian Games.

Julia Hargreaves and Vedor

On Olympic debut in London, Julia Hargreaves and Vedor made it to the individual final finishing in equal 35th position. This will be Hargreaves’ first World Equestrian Games

Jamie Kermond and Quite Cassini/Killeter Park Caracas

Kermond first represented Australia at a World Equestrian Games in Aachen, 2006. He is the current Australian Show Jumping Champion and in April competed in the FEI World Cup Jumping Final in Lyon.

James Paterson-Robinson and Boris

James Paterson Robinson has represented Australia at the Olympics and World Equestrian Games having competed at Kentucky WEG 2010 and London Olympics 2012.

Edwina Tops-Alexander and Ego Van Orti/Old Chap Tame

Edwina Tops-Alexander is a two time Olympian (2008, 2012) and three time World Equestrian Games representative (2002, 2006, 2010). She is currently the overall series leader of the 2014 Global Champions Tour, a title that she has won on two occasions (2011, 2012).

As per the WEG selection policy for Jumping, the WEG team of five will include one travelling reserve. The nominated reserve will be named on or before 21 August 2014.