Pedro Veniss of Brazil Picks Up Small Tour Grand Prix on Sunshine Tour


Brazilian rider Pedro Veniss was the winner of Saturday, March 5th’s Coca Cola Small GP, riding For Felicila on the Sunshine Tour in Vejer de la Frontera on the southern tip of Spain. He went relatively early in the jump off and not one of the other 17 riders could beat his clear in a time of 42.60 sec. British rider Tim Wilks with Inca Boy Van’t Vianahof took 2nd place in 43.77 sec and Irish rider Richard Howley with Calmond was 3rd in 44.32 sec. Just out of the top three was the Spanish rider Iker Jauregui riding Rubis de Cormeiles, who was also clear in 45.89sec.

In the second largest class of the day, the 1.40 m Big Tour B, Iván Serrano riding Quebec Gesmeray was the winner for Spain, completing the jump off in 38.17 sec The Belgian rider Stephanie Andries riding Cicero was 2nd in 39.62 sec and British rider Kerry Brennan with Dynamic III was 3rd in 39.69 sec.

There was another victory for Brazil in the 1.35 m Big Tour A2 class, Luis Francisco De Azevedo with Axel P took 1st, with the Belgian rider Boy-Adrian Van Gelderen riding APG Cas in 2nd and the British rider Mark Armstrong with Balougio III in 3rd.

In the Big Tour A1 class the British riders were in control! Henry Turrell with Barbados III was 1st, Georgia Tame with Zidane VIII, 2nd and Tim Page with Duc D’Arsouilles,3rd.

In the amateur classes British rider Kayleigh Watts won the 1.35 m riding Charmeur. Irish rider McCoppin with Billy Diamond was 2nd and the British rider Jake Aston with Celeste was 3rd.

The Portuguese rider Luca Sousa riding Capano 2 was the winner in the 1.30 m class, with the rider from Uruguay, Carina Tringolo with Don Doctro of Heritage in 2nd and the Belgian rider Thibault Le Jeune with Ballerina, 3rd.

Sonia Leena Hungerbuhler, from Finland riding Air Rose Z, British rider Kieran Masters with Oxala de Batailley and the Swedish rider Ulrika Goodin riding Cow Power were the fastest three in the Classic Tour B class. In the Classic Tour A1 class the top three riders in order were, Eleanor Hall Mcateer with Blush for Great Britain , Dutch rider Janneke Brouwers with Emilie Van De Helle and Portuguese rider Joao Bueno with Uranus D’Ecaussines.

Sunday will be a busy day at the Tour with 10 classes being held in various arenas. The Classic Tour GP will be held in the David Broome arena at 10:00. In the same arena at 14:00 the 1.55 m, Julio Guisado GP, will begin. The winner of this GP will receive a trophy designed and crafted by our farrier Julio Guisado Rawas. This sculpture is made out of three horseshoes shaped on the farrier’s forge into a jumping horse.

The organising committee at the Sunshine Tour would like to remind you that you can follow the jumping at the Tour live online on our website, better still come and visit the Dehesa Montenmedio and spend a day here, entrance and parking are free.

See full results of the Coca Cola Grand Prix at this link.